Wayne Memorial Ribbon Cutting for New Tower

(Honesdale, September 10, 2019)….More than 350 people turned out for Wayne Memorial Hospital’s grand opening and ribbon cutting for its new patient tower on Saturday, September 7th.  The 85,000 square foot tower houses 50 private patient rooms and “smart” technology designed to reduce the risk for infection, enhance communication and decrease noise levels. The hospital’s largest expansion in its 99-year history cost approximately $35 million dollars (another $5 million was funneled into hospital renovations) and was financed largely through Wayne County-backed bonds, grants and cash. Speakers included hospital CEO David Hoff, Wayne Memorial Hospital/Health System Board Chairman Dirk Mumford, Chief of Staff William Dewar III, MD, Wayne County Commissioner Joseph Adams and Paul Meagher, a local businessman and former board chair who was born in the original hospital on Court Street nearly 78 years ago. US Representative Matt Cartwright (D-8th) was also on hand to publicly commend the hospital on its new tower. Reverend Edward Erb, pastor of Grace Episcopal Church in Honesdale, gave the invocation and four Honesdale High School students helped open the ceremony with the National Anthem.

Attendees also enjoyed tours and the chance to win prizes from Woodloch Springs and the Lodge at Woodloch, Costa’s Family Fun Park, Ski Big Bear, Elegante Restaurant, Hotel Wayne and the hospital Auxiliary.

Photo, left to right front: Juliann Doyle, chair Community Advisory Board;  Reverend Edward Erb; AG Howell, Wayne Memorial Health Foundation (WMHF)  board; Mary Hoff, WMH/WMHS Board; Paul Meagher; Honesdale Mayor Sarah Canfield; Matt Cartwright, US Rep. (8th); William Dewar III, MD; John Conte, WMH Facility Services/Real Estate director;  Dirk Mumford, chair WMH/WMHS board; Hugh Rechner, Esq., 1st vice chair WMH/WMHS board; WMH CEO David Hoff; Wendell Hunt, WMH/WMHS board; Frank Borelli, treasurer WMH/WMHS board; Christine Rechner, chair Wayne Memorial Long-Term Care board;  Joann Hudak, 2nd vice chair WMH/WMHS board;  James Hockenbury, director Ancillary Services;  Louis D’Oro, MD, president WMH Medical Staff; Frederick Jackson, executive director Wayne Memorial Community Health Centers. Back row: Wayne County Commissioner Joseph Adams; Aimee Weschler, representing US Senator Bob Casey (PA); Josh Schneider, Burkavage Design Associates (BDA); Joseph Sesso and Bill Sordoni, Sordoni Construction; Rosemarie Corigliano, president WMH Auxiliary; Nancy Propst, chair WMHF; Jonathan Fritz, PA state representative; Jack Dennis, executive director WMHF; Ron Schmalzle, WMH/WMHS board and Pike County Commissioner; Matt Meagher, Esq., WMH/WMHS board; Donald Flynn, BDA.